Steering Board Elections – 2017-2019

Nick Piggott 16th January 2017

Nominations for Chair, Secretary and Steering Board Members

The Chair, Secretary and Steering Board of RadioDNS will be elected at the Eleventh General Assembly, and will serve through until March 2019. Members can nominate people to be elected to each of these roles – the nominees do not have to be members (or work for the nominating company) themselves. You can nominate yourself.

Nominations close on 31st January 2017 at 16:00 UTC.


The Chair is responsible for the corporate governance of RadioDNS, making sure that the Steering Board conducts itself properly, and is accountable to the Members. The Chair manages the Project Director on behalf of the Steering Board. This role requires approximately 4 hours per month of time.

Name Organisation Nominated by Supporting statement
Walter Huijten NPO NPO 4 years experience as a RadioDNS board member; – track record in advancing RadioDNS at policy and practical -levels; – active in EBU digital Radio Platform and other relevant workgroups; – good contact base in the digital radio world


The Secretary supports the Chair and the Project Director in the running of the Steering Board, and may attend other events on behalf of RadioDNS. The role requires approximately 4 hours per month of time.

Name Organisation Nominated by Supporting statement
Ben Poor EBU EBU Ben has been working in Technology and Innovation roles at Global Radio, the UK’s largest commercial broadcaster since 2004. Over this time he has worked extensively in the development of Digital and Hybrid Radio services and was part of the founding team for RadioDNS. He has been most active in the development of standards, particularly around metadata and is the Tech Lead for the RadioEPG project. He will be joining the EBU as their T&I Radio expert in April 2017.

Steering Board Members

Steering Board Members represent all Members, and use their skill and experience to develop RadioDNS in the direction set by the members. The Steering Board meets 4 times per year, and members have to review and discuss proposals for activities/projects. The roles requires approximately 15 hours per year. There are 9 Steering Board places.

The following nominations have been received for the Steering Board

Name Organisation Nominated by Supporting statement
Travis Baxter Bauer Media Bauer Media Travis is the Content and Strategy Director for Bauer Media, who operate radio stations across Europe
Nicolas Bresou RTBF RTBF Digital Radio Manager – After touring Sub-Saharan Africa for more than 10 years for a telecommunications company, bringing Internet by satellite and radio in very remote places, Nicolas has joined RTBF, the public broadcasting organization of the French Community of Belgium, in 2015, where he is in charge of projects in digital radio broadcasting. This includes the roll-out of the new DAB+ network managed by RTBF, its promotion and the digital radio over Internet with, the association of public and private broadcasters using a common web audio player and promoting both DAB+ and the radio player.
Kath Brown CRA CRA Commercial Radio Australia is a foundation steering board member of RadioDNS, helping to steer its direction and development to achieve the success it has today.  It is now time to promote RadioDNS to broadcasters, module makers and device manufacturers around the world. Kath is well placed to actively contribute to this  effort, with regular close contact with international bodies and broadcasters across Australia and the Asia Pacific.
Joe D’Angelo Tessera Inc.
(Formerly iBiquity HD Radio)
Tessera Inc.  Joseph D’Angelo, Senior Vice President of Broadcast Radio, is responsible for global broadcast radio business and product development. As one of the founders of iBiquity Digital, the company behind HD Radio technology, Joe has over 17 years of experience in the radio technology industry. He has lead commercial licensing, product development and technology innovation efforts during his tenure and currently leads Tessera’s expansion into global radio technology offerings with a unique focus on HD Radio, DAB, hybrid and streaming radio services.  He manages resources around the world committed to ensuring broadcast radio has a rich and vibrant offering in today’s digital broadcast and connected world.
Alex Erk IRT ARD
John Farrell Frontier Silicon Frontier Silicon John Farrell is Vice President of Engineering for Frontier Silicon’s Cambridge R&D Centre and has led its receiver development for 14 years. He has a strong technical background in both broadcast and IP technologies and a pragmatic business sense about how to make things happen. He is a member of the WorldDMB Technical Committee and has been an active member of the RadioDNS steering board for the last 5 years. Frontier Silicon believes that RadioDNS is central to the future of hybrid radio technology. If re-elected John would continue to be a strong and active participant of the RadioDNS steering board.
David Layer NAB NAB David Layer is senior director, advanced engineering in NAB’s Technology department. David has been with NAB since 1995 and has been very active in the radio technology and standards setting area. He is the primary NAB staff person on NAB’s radio technology committee and the National Radio Systems Committee (NRSC), a technical standards setting body co-sponsored by NAB and the Consumer Technology Association (CTA).
Sean O’Halpin BBC BBC Sean has led the BBC’s technical work on RadioDNS for some time. He has driven through live services using RadioDNS inside the BBC, works will receiver manufacturers on new features, and has been involved in standardisation processes. He manages a team of engineers working on hybrid receivers amongst many other services, and is used to working on technical projects spanning multiple organisations and timezones. He is comfortable with commercial and business requirements. He will be an asset to RadioDNS and help drive innovation and takeup.
Christian Winter Audi AG Audi AG Christian Winter has a master of engineering degree in media technology and works as a development engineer in the infotainment department at the German car manufacturer AUDI AG. His work on Hybrid Radio projects started in 2010 with evaluation of the IMDA and RadioDNS specifications for the Institut für Rundfunktechnik. The result was the IRT Radio App for iOS which supported RadioVIS and RadioEPG services. At AUDI AG he is now responsible for Connected Radio services and sees open technical standards and the communication between broadcasters and manufacturers as a key point to create future Connected Radios.

How To Vote

Members will be emailed a ballot form on 1st February 2017 to their nominated contact email. You must return your completed ballot by email, prior to the start of the Election item on the General Assembly agenda. (Approximately 14:00 UTC on 6th February 2017).

If you have not received a ballot form by 2nd February 2017, please contact the Project Office on

Share to: